Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Connecting 65Mbps (versus 150Mbps) To ASUS RT-N56U Wi-Fi Router – SOLUTION!

As long as I was posting solutions to other issues, I figured I may as well post this one too.

My HP laptop with the Atheros AR9285 Wi-Fi card is limited to a max speed of 150Mbps due to the cards internal 2.4GHZ only radio. Other cards also support the dual band 2.4/4.8/5GHz Wireless options which would increase the maximum to 300 or even 450Mbps (as my router supports). I understand some cards/routers even go to 600Mbps but that info is for another post.

Anyway – my laptop was connecting to the router at only 65Mbps when it seemed it ought to be at 150Mbps. I checked the Atheros driver, and it was current at 9.2.0.113 [download/update yours HERE http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-download.php?chipset=37&system=5 if it is not current].

I then checked the router configuration, and saw on the GENERAL WIRELESS settings page that the 2.4Ghz bandwidth setting [20 20/40 40] was defaulting to 20MHZ which limits the speeds to 65Mbps. I changed it to 20/40 because that was what the 5GHz setting was, and now all my capable Wireless clients are connecting at 150Mbps!

Best Wishes!

About NiceTry

Observer of objective truth in pursuit of my personal happiness.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Connecting 65Mbps (versus 150Mbps) To ASUS RT-N56U Wi-Fi Router – SOLUTION!

  1. Park Jin Min says:

    Hi there
    I’m using Asus laptop with Atheros AR9285 too.
    But how can i update my driver downloaded from the link you post (http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-download.php?chipset=37&system=5)
    After extracting the zip file, there’s no .exe file, but only .sys, .cat, .inf files. Can you share me the way you update your drivers with such stuffs.
    Thanks in advanced.

    • carlupq says:

      What you do is go to CONTROL PANEL, then HARDWARE AND SOUND and you will see an icon called DEVICE MANAGER. Click that, then locate your Atheros adapter in the NETWORK ADAPTERS section. Right-Click the Atheros and select UPDATE DRIVER. Then you will use the BROWSE MY COMPUTER option to point to the folder where you saw the .sys and .cat files and it will load those driver files.

      Good luck!

  2. Park Jin Min says:

    that sucks!
    i’d known that way but Windows still notice that my “old” driver up-to-date.
    But fortunately, someone share me the application of Atheros to update the driver we mention above.
    Thanks anyway, dude.

  3. Anrei says:

    Hi,
    For me worked driver version: 8.0.0.316 – Date: 2010.03.02
    Now my wireless connection is working at 150Mbps and stable. I’ve made few tests.
    Good luck.

  4. Gab says:

    I can confirm that driver version: 8.0.0.316 worked for me on windows 10 at 150Mbps

Leave a comment